Kundali - The Fundamentals of Horoscope

Fundamentals of Horoscope  Planet Dashas  Significance of Houses 

What is a horoscope?

A horoscope is a detailed layout of the zodiac and planets at the time of birth. It would be equivalent to a picture taken at a particular time capturing the state of heavenly bodies in the sky. It represents the zodiacal sign rising at the place of birth and the location of planets in various signs. The 12 zodiacal signs are related to so many houses in the horoscope relative to different aspects of life. A detailed horoscope relates the planets, houses, and minute divisions of the signs in order to show the strength and potential of the planets. It correlates the signs of the zodiac as they are crossed by the sun, moon and planets and the position of planets in the twelve astrological houses.

The 12 house divisions generally signify the following aspects of an individual's life:
1st House: (Ascendant) General personality, face, temperament, strength, and vitality (life-force contained in the incarnating soul).

2nd House: (Dhana Bhava) Wealth and affluence, family relations, speech, right eye, neck, creative potential, and death.

3rd House: (Sahaja Bhava) Siblings, individual prowess, collateral, short journeys, chest and right ear, longevity.

4th House: (Sukha sthana) Immediate environment, home life, mother, emotion, landed property, dwelling place, personal conveyance, conditions at the fag end of life. It also refers to chest as well as peace of mind.

5th House: (Suta Bhava) Children, creativity, learning, psychological disposition, speculation, intelligence, and physically it relate to stomach and back.6th House: (Ripu Sthana) Enemies, impediments, wounds on body, disappointments, debts, illnesses, servants, employment conditions. It also represents intestines and navel.

7th House: (Kalatra or Jaya Bhava) Marriage and legally wedded wife, business partnerships, foreign travel recognition of merit overseas, dissipation of energy, sexual relationships; it represents the loin region and the urinary tract.

8th House: (Mrityu sthana) Death, generative organs, hidden aspects of an individual, occultism, legacy, unearned income, secret maneuverings, life of the spouse, place and surroundings of death.

9th House: (Dharma sthana; Bhagya sthana) Religious philosophy and one's beliefs, luck, past righteous merits natural proclivities, unmerited rewards, rituals, long travels, father, and thigh.

10th House: (Karma sthana) Profession, relationship with state and administration, primary activities for sustaining oneself, status in life, honor from the public, and knees.

11th House: (Labha sthana) Gains, income, friendship, social life and permissive sexual relationships, elder brother, and ankles.

12th House: (Vyaya sthana) Expenditure, all kinds of outflows, e.g. expenditure, dissipation of energy, useless efforts, tiresome travels. It is also concerned with pleasures of bed and with the obstacles in life. It is concerned with life after death and with psychic experiences. It is related with feet.

Relations between planets

A planet is said to be a friend of the other whose rays it does not counteract. The following table will show you the permanent friendship between planets:

Planet Friend Neutral Enemy
The Sun Moon, Mars, Jupiter Mercury Saturn, Venus
The Moon Sun, Mercury Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Venus None
Mars Jupiter, Moon, Sun Saturn, Venus Mercury
Mercury Sun, Venus Saturn, Mars, Jupiter Moon
Jupiter Sun, Moon, Mars Saturn Mercury, Venus
Venus Mercury, Saturn Mars, Jupiter Moon, Sun
Saturn Venus, Mercury Jupiter Mars, Moon, Sun


Also known as "Neecha" It represents the weakest position of a planet. At this position the positive effects of the planet are eliminated unless cancelled by "Neecha Bhanga Raja Yoga". The planets are debilitated as follows:

1. Sun in Libra
2. Moon in Scorpio
3. Mars in Cancer
4. Mercury in Pisces
5. Jupiter in Capricorn
6. Venus in Virgo
7. Saturn in Aries
8. Rahu in Scorpio
9. Ketu in Taurus


The term used to describe a planet that is placed in its sign of exaltation, the sign, other than its one of dignity, in which it functions most smoothly, greater than normal in degree or intensity, because of the harmonious relationship between planet and sign. The planets are exalted as follows:

1. Sun in Aries
2. Moon in Taurus
3. Mars in Capricorn
4. Mercury in Virgo
5. Jupiter in Cancer
6. Venus in Pisces
7. Saturn in Libra
8. Rahu in Taurus
9. Ketu in Scorpio

The integrated analytical technique will focus on a stepwise approach:

Step 1
Check the correctness or birth data twice. If any doubt subsists, rectification should be done before anything else.

Step 2
Identify the functional nature of planets, the most benefic planet and most malefic planet. Underline the most malefic planets.

Step 3
Find out the strength of planets; see if the planets are weak or strong, and closely afflicted etc.

Step 4
Find out the current operating dasas. Identify the house where mooltrikona sign of sub-period lord is placed and the natal house is occupied by the sub-period lord.

Step 5
Find out the natal and transit strength of the sub-period lord and determine the triple transit triggering influence i.e. from Transit to Natal, Transit to Transit, and Natal to Transit. Don't forget special aspects of Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu.

Step 6
Assess longevity: If a mooltrikona sign rises in the ascendant, pay special attention to the longevity by seeing the strength of planets and functional nature of operating planets.

Step 7
By using the dasas and transits, combine these to see the current and future trends.

Step 8
Prescribe the astral remedies. Until and unless astral advice is sought, better not to give it.