Astrology and Planets

Planets in astrology have a meaning different from the modern astronomical understanding of what a planet is. The planets are regarded as basic life-forces, the tools we live by as well as the basis of our very substance. In Astrology each of the 9 planets rules a Zodiac Sign and a Zodiac House.

The planets are divided into two classes: personal planets, (or fast-moving planets), and collective planets (or slow-moving planets).

The personal planets are the Sun, the Moon, Mercury, Venus and Mars. They are said to be fast-moving because it takes them a short time to travel the Zodiacal circle (from a minimum of 28 days for the Moon to a maximum of 1 year and 220 days for Mars). As they quickly shift from one sign to the other, they release their energies very differently in each individual.

The other planets are slower and require between 12 to 249 years to travel through the entire Zodiac, depending on the planet considered. This is the reason why they are called collective planets, with the exception of Jupiter and Saturn, because their motion is faster. Collective planets remain in a sign for several years and their energies affect one or several generations. Therefore, their influence on the individual's personality is less important.

The Sun and the Moon are two valuable sources of information on the individual's basic psychology. They are of utmost importance for the interpretation of the natal chart, and are called Luminaries because they are the brightest planets.

The following is a brief interpretation for each planet.


Planet Sun

Sun is the Lord of Simha Rashi [Leo] and occupies the central place amongst the navagrahas. Sun is also known as "The King" in the planetary cabinet. The colour of sun is red and...  More


Planet Moon

Moon is the Lord of Karka Rashi [Cancer] which is the Sign of nurturing and mothering. Moon is also known as "The Queen" in the planetary cabinet. It rules white and silver colours.  More


Planet Mercury

Mercury is the Lord of Mithua Rashi [Gemini] & Kanya Rashi [Virgo]. It is also known as "The Prince" in the planetary cabinet. It rules green colour and its temperament is volatile...  More


Planet Venus

Venus is the Lord of Vrishbha Rashi [Taurus] & Tula Rashi [Libra]. It is also known as "The Minister" in the planetary cabinet. It rules royal blue colour and its temperament...  More


Planet Mars

Mars is the Lord of Mesha Rashi [Aries] & Vrishchika Rashi [Scorpio]. Mars is also known as "The commander-in-chief" in the planetary cabinet. It rules bright red...  More


Planet Jupiter

Jupiter is the Lord of Dhanu Rashi [Sagittarius] & Meen Rashi [Pisces]. It is also known as "The Minister" in the planetary cabinet. It rules yellow colour and its temperament is mild... More


Planet Saturn

Saturn is the Lord of Makara Rashi [Capricorn] & Kumbha Rashi [Aquarius]. It is also known as "The Servant" in the planetary cabinet. It rules black, navy blue  More


Planet Rahu

The Rahu is instrumental in strengthening one's power and converting even an enemy into a friend. Even the effect of snakebite could be removed by  More


Planet Ketu

Ketu is a headless half-planet, shadowy as Rahu. Ketu is bestows wisdom, powers of discrimination, and gyana - spiritual knowledge, the knowledge of the self. More