Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is the oldest school of ancient astrology. This is also known as 'Jyotisha', which is a Sanskrit word means 'light or brightness'. It is an ancient science based on the laws of nature. In Astrology, it is believed that every human being has fortune based on his/her 'karmas' and the nine planets has deep influence on the lives of humans. It is a unique science based on spirituality which deals with both inner and outer life of a person whereas other sciences deals with only outer person. It is an excellent tool to uncover the cause of planetary-caused illnesses. It tells you not only about your weak or strong planets but also suggests you remedies to deactivate those weak planets. There are four areas in life which needs attention i.e. Health, life-purpose or meaningful career (dharma), spiritual relationships and personal spiritual path. The unique feature of Vedic astrology is that it not only reads your birth chart, tells you about your strong and weak planets but also suggests therapies to remove the ill effects of weak planets and you can take control of your lives and live better life.

In Vedic Astrology, a basic Birth Chart is prepared based on the date, time and place of birth and then it can be studied in a number of ways which is used to maximize opportunities for growth and minimize sufferings.

In olden days it was believed that the lord Brahma is the creator of Vedic astrology but now it is believed that the current form was written by Maharishi Parashara thousands of years ago. He is known as the father of astrology and his book, "Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra" is the he basis of Vedic Astrology. According to this book, Vedic Astrology has three main branches i.e.

  1. Siddhant
  2. Samhita
  3. Hora

It deals primarily with astronomy and how it is used with astrology.

Samhita deals with day to day activities like what is happening around the world, wars, political matters or events related to nature etc.

It is a Predictive Astrology which further has branches which are :

Jaatak Shastra

It deals with individual horoscopes.

Muhurat Astrology
It is used to decide best time to do something. It is based on your birth chart.

Swar Shastra
It is Phonetical Astrology based on names and sounds.

It is Horary Astrology in which a question is answered based on a chart for the time and place it was asked.

Commonly known as Numerology, it tells the relation between numbers and humans.

Nadi Astrology
It is a science of reading a person' past, present and future lives based on writings by ancient hindu sages.

Tajik Shastra
It is an annual horoscope based on annual solar returns.

It is lost horoscopy which is used to reconstructing lost horoscopes.

It is a branch of astrology which deals with matters related to females.

Vedic Astrology vs. Western astrology

There are few points of difference between vedic and western astrology and these are :
  1. Vedic Astrology deals with both inner and outer life of a person whereas western astrology deals with only outer realm of a person.
  2. Vedic Astrology refers ascendant's position in the sky while Western Astrology refers sun's position. Ascendant's changes position every 2 and 1/2 hours and Sun's changes position every month.
  3. Vedic Astrology uses the sidereal zodiac while Western Astrology uses tropical zodiac. Western Astrology focuses primarily on analysis and psychological matters while Vedic Astrology focuses both on analysis and therapies to remove problems.