About Panchtantra
Posted On : 16 Apr 2007 Total Views : 24883 Previous | Next

Panchtantra, is a collection of five volumes of stories written by a teacher to help instruct the different aspects of kinghood for princes. The collection of stories in Pancha Tantra are a real treat for parents to help them in guiding them towards values in human life. Every story in Pancha Tantra is accompanied by a moral.

The background story of Panchtantra is :

Long ago in the kingdom of Mahilaropya, there lived a king who was ruling very ideally. He had three sons, who were not intelligent. The king was worried about the heir to the throne, as he knew that his sons were incapable of governing. He was desperate to find a good and knowleagable teacher for his sons who would teach them the scriptures and make them knowledgeable in a short time. His minister then pointed towards a skilled pundit, Vishnu Sharman. Vishnu sharman was old and the king was worried as to how the teacher could accomplish the teaching to his sons as he told that even an intelligent man takes more than twelve years to grasp all the elements of scriptures. Then Vishnu Sharman convinced the king that he would teach the princes about kingly conduct through a series of stories, which would be more effective than the scriptures. Thus Vishnu Sharman compiled the collection in five volumes termed as Panchtantra meant to serve as the guide for the princes to learn about kingly behaviour. Since then, Panchtantra became popular all over the world as children's guide in solving problems of life.

Panchtantra is written in five volumes:

 The Loss of Friends
 The winning of friends
 Crows and Owls
 Loss of Gains
 considered action

Panchtantra, Part I

The Loss of Friends
These are stories that figure in a dialogue between two jackals named Karataka and Damanaka. Karataka ('Horribly Howling') and Damanaka ('Victor') are the Sanskrit names of two jackals in the first section of the Panchtantra. They are retainers to a lion king and their lively adventures as well as the stories they and other characters tell one another make up roughly 45% of the book's length.
Stories are :
 The monkey and the wedge
 The Jackal and the Drum
 The fall and rise of a merchant
 The Foolish Sage and the Jackal
 The crafty crane and the craftier crab
 The two crows and cobra
 The cunning hare and the witless lion
 The bug and the poor flea
 The Blue Jackal
 The Camel, the Jackal and the Crow
 The bird pair and the sea
 The turtle and two swans
 The three fish
 The elephant and the sparrow
 The lion and the Jackal
 Suchimukha and the monkey
 The wet monkey
 The story of father and his son
 The foolish crane and the mongoose
 The return of balance
 The king and the foolish monkey

Second Strategy: Gaining Friends
This is the second strategy of Panchtantra known as Gaining Friends. These are stories that figure in a dialogue between four friends named Laghupatanaka (the crow), Hiranyaka (the rat), Mandharaka(the turtle) and Chitranga(the deer). These are stories that they tell to one another on the value of friendship. The moral of these stories are that one should not try to cheat friends. He who is faithful to his friends shall never taste defeat.

Stories are :
 The hunter and the pigeons
 The hunter and the greedy jackal
 The Merchant's Son
 The Unlucky Weaver
 The Rescue of a Deer

Third Strategy: Of Crows and Owls
This is the story of how the crows burnt the home of a trusting pack of owls. The stories are series of conversations among ministers of crows and owls. Most of the stories are told by the wisest and senior most counsel, Sthirajeevi of the king of crows Meghavarna. The moral of these stories are that trust not even a close friend who earlier was your enemy.

Stories are :
 Elephants and Hares
 The Cunning Mediator
 The Brahmin and the crooks
 The Brahmin and the cobra
 The Cranes
 Hunter and the pair of doves
 The old man, his young wife and the thief
 The Brahmin, the thief and the monster
 The two snakes
 The Story of three brothers
 The story of wedding of mouse
 The Golden Droppings
 The speaking cave
 Frogs that rode a snake

Fourth Strategy: Loss of Gains
These are stories that figure in a dialogue between a crocodile named Karalamukha and a monkey Raktamukha.
Stories are :
 The monkey and crocodile
 The greedy cobra and the king of frogs
 The lion and the foolish donkey
 The story of the potter
 The wives
 The donkey
 The Guests
 The Carpenter's Wife
 The foolish woman
 The Price of Indiscretion
 The Jackal's Strategy
 The Dog

Fifth Strategy: Imprudence
These are stories that figure in a dialogue between two friends named Suvarnabuddhi and Chakradhara.

Stories are :
 The Barber
 The brahmani and the mongoose
 Four friends and the treasure
 The lion that sprang to life
 The Brahmin Boys
 The tale of two fish and a frog
 The Donkey
 The story of the weaver
 The miserly father
 The monkeys
 The bird with two heads
 The Brahmin Boy

Previous article :  Essential clothes for your new baby
Next article :  Panchtantra Part 1 - Introduction
Google Advt