Home >> India Information >> Great Indians
 Register Now 

Fifteenth Lok Sabha Member

Pranab Mukherjee

Pranab Mukherjee

Party Name Indian National Congress (INC)
Constituency Jangipur
State West Bengal
Father's Name Late Shri Kamada Kinkar Mukherjee
Mother's Name Late Smt. Rajlakshmi Mukherjee
Date of Birth 11.12.1935
Place of Birth Kirnahar, Distt. Birbhum, West Bengal
Profession Professor, Journalist, Advocate
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 13 Jul 1957
Spouse's Name Smt. Suvra Mukherjee
No. of Children 3
Educational Qualifications

M.A. (History), M.A. (Political Science), LL.B., D. Litt. (Honoris Causa)
Educated at Vidyasagar College, Suri, Calcutta University, West Bengal

Permanent Address

Flat No. 2-A, First Floor
60/2/7, Kavi Bharti Sarani (Lake Road)
Kolkata - 700 029
West Bengal
Phone: 033-24648366

Present Address

13, Talkatora Road
New Delhi - 110 001
Phone: 011-23737623, 23323042, 2373657, 23737658

Position Held

July 1969
Elected to Rajya Sabha

February 1973 - January 1974
Union Deputy Minister, Industrial Development

January 1974 - October 1974
Union Deputy Minister, Shipping and Transport

October 1974 - December 1975
Union Minister of State for Finance

July 1975
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (2nd term)

December 1975 - March 1977
Union Minister of Revenue and Banking

Treasurer, Inadian Natioanl Congress Party

1978-1986 & 1997 onwards
Member, Congress (I) Working Committee (the highest policy making body of Indian National Congress)

January 1980 - January 1982
Union Minister of Commerce and Steel and Mines

Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha

August 1981
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (3rd term)

January 1982 - December 1984
Union Cabinet Minister Finance with additional for Conducting National Elections of Parliament charge of Ministry of Commerce and Supply

1984-1991 and 1996
Chairman, Campaign Committee Congress for Conducting National Elections to Parliament

1985 and August 2000 onwards
President, State Unit of the Congress Party in West Bengal

June 1991 - May 1996
Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission

January 1993 - February 1995
Union Minister of Commerce

August 1993
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (4th term)

February 1995 - May 1996
Union Minister, External Affairs

- Member, Business Advisory Committee - Member, Committee on Rules
- Member, Committee on Privileges

May 1996-2004
Chief Whip, I.N.C. in Rajya Sabha

- Chairman, Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests
- Chairman, Media Committee, Indian National Congress Party
- Chairman, Economic Reforms Commitee, Indian National Congress Party
- Member, Parliamentary Affairs Committee, Indian National Congress Party
- Chairman, Legislative Affaris Committee, Indian National Congress Party

June 1998
Chairman, Committee on Home Affairs

December 1999
General Secretary, Indian National Congress

August 1999
Re-elected to Rajya Sabha (5th term)

January 2000 - 2004
- Member, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
- Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
- Member, General Purposes Committee, Rajya Sabha
- Member, Indian Parliamentary Group Executive Committee
- Member, Joint Committee on Installation of Portraits/Statues of National Leaders in Parliament House
- Member, Parliamentary Pay Committee

Elected to 14th Lok Sabha

May 2004 onwards
- Union Cabinet Minister, Defence
- Member, Business Advisory Committee, Lok Sabha
- Leader of the House, Lok Sabha
- Member, General Purpose Committee, Lok Sabha

25 October 2006 onwards
Union Cabinet Minister, External Affairs

Favourite Pastime and Recreation

Reading, gardening and music

Countries Visited

Travelled all over the world

Other Information

President, Group 24 (a Ministerial Group attached to I.M.F. and World Bank), 1984;

Member, Board of Governors,

  1. International Monetary Fund, 1982-85,

  2. World Bank, 1982-85,

  3. Asian Development Bank, 1982-85,

  4. African Development Bank, 1982-85;

rated as one of the best five Finance Ministers of the World for the year 1984 according to a survey of Euro Money -a journal published from New York;

leadership in the Ministry of Finance and other Economic Ministries was well acclaimed, nationally and internationally;

was considered the key figure in formulating long term economic policies of the nation;

under his stewardship, India earned distinction of not withdrawing the last installment of I.M.F. loan to the extent of US$1.1 billion;

was considered a top ranking Minister and presided over the Cabinet meetings of the Union in the absence of the Prime Minister during 1980-84;

under his leadership, India was made "Full Dialogue Partner" of A.S.E.A.N.;

presided over S.A.A.R.C. Council of Ministers Conference, May, 1995 and November 1995;

Leader of Indian Delegation to

  1. Colombo Plan Finance Ministers Conference, Singapore, 1975 and Colombo 1976,

  2. Commonwealth Finance Ministers Conference, 1982, 1983 and 1984,

  3. Annual General Meeting of World Bank and I.M.F. 1982, 1983 and 1984,

  4. Annual General Meeting of Asian Development Bank, 1982, 1983 and 1984,

  5. Ministerial Conference of W.T.O., Marrakesh,1994,

  6. U.N. General Assembly, 1994 and 1995,

  7. Commonwealth Prime Ministers` Conference, New Zealand, 1995

  8. Social Summit, Copenhagen, 1995,

  9. 40th Anniversary of Asian Conference at Bandung, 1995,

  10. Conference of Commonwealth Heads of Governments (C.H.O.G.M.), Auckland, 1995,

  11. Non-Aligned Foreign Ministers Conference at Carte-Ghana, 1995 and U.N., 1995 and 1996; and

  12. conferred Best Parliamentarian Award, 1997