Home >> India Information >> Orissa
 Register Now 


Districts of Orissa

Balangir District

The district of Balangir is flanked in the northwest by the Gandhamardhan Hills, a name of Ramayan fame and the northeast by the rock infested Mahanadi. The district was formed on 1st Nov,1949. Sonepur was carved out as a separate district on 1.4.1993....[ More ]

Balasore District

Balasore is one of the coastal district of Orissa, lies on the northern most part of the state having 21 degree 03' to 21 degree 59' North Latitude & 86 degree 20' to 87 degree 29' East Longitude. It is bounded by Bay of Bengal in the East, Mayurbhanj district in the West, Midnapore (W.B.) district in the North and Bhadrak district in the South....[ More ]

Bargarh District

The Bargarh district lies between 20° 43' to 21° 41' North latitude and 82° 39' to 83° 58' East longitude. It is one of the western most districts of the State of Orissa and came in to existence as a district from 1st April 1993. It is bounded on the north by the State of Chhatisgarh and on the east by the district of Sambalpur, on the south lies the district of Balangir and Subarnapur and on the west the district of Nawapara....[ More ]

Boudh District

Located centrally in the Map of Orissa, Boudh is traversed by river Mahanadi and its tributaries, along which lie the extensive riverine fertile plains. As the very name goes, Boudh was once a significant Buddhist centre in Orissa which has been confirmed as an archaeological fact....[ More ]

Cuttack District

Cuttack, the former capital and one of the oldest cities of Orissa is the administrative headquarters of the district. The town is situated at the apex of the delta formed by the rivers Mahanadi in the North and Kathajodi in the South....[ More ]

Deogarh District

Deogarh district was newly created on 01.01.1994, being bifurcated from Sambalpur District. It forms part of the old Bamara State (Deogarh Sub-Division). It is situated in the western region of the state having its Head Quarter at Deogarh....[ More ]

Dhenkanal District

Dhenkanal district is one of the centrally located district in Orissa. It lies between Longitude 85° 58' to 86° 2' East and Latitude 20° 29' to 21° 11' North. It is the District which touches the boundary of Keonjhar in the North, Jajpur in the East, Cuttack in the South and Angul in the West. Geographical area of Dhenkanal district is 4595 sq kms....[ More ]

Gajapati District

Gajapati district came into being with effect from 2nd October 1992. Prior to this it was a part (Sub-Division) of Ganjam district. This district lies between 18.450 East to 19.400 West latitude and 85.480 North to 84.270 South longitude....[ More ]

Ganjam District

Ganjam district is broadly divided into two divisions, the coastal plains area in the east and hill and table lands in the west. The eastern ghats run along the western side of the district. The plains lies between the eastern ghats and the Bay of Bengal....[ More ]

Jharsuguda District

Jharsuguda District is situated in western part of Orissa at 21° 82' N and 84° 1' E coordinates. Jharsuguda is rich in mineral wealth, especially coal and it is one of the most industrialised and urbanised districts in the state....[ More ]

Kalahandi District

The present District of Kalahandi was in ancient times a part of South Kosals. It was princely state. After Independence of the Country, merger of princely state took place on 1st January, 1948. The princely state of Kalahandi was merged in Orissa alongwith other princely states in the 1st November, 1949....[ More ]

Keonjhar District

The district of Keonjhar, lying between 21o1'N and 22o10'N latitude and 85o11'E to 86o22'E longitude presents a panorama of millennia, both from the geographical and anthropological point of view....[ More ]

Khordha district

Khordha , once upon a time was the Kingdom of the Kalinga dynasty , is famous for its heroism , the Paika rebellion and the architectural beauty. The history of Khordha is linked with the history of Kalinga. Presently it is the headquarter of Khordha district , situated in 85 degree 37' 30" E and 19 degree 40' to 20 degree 25' N and 20 KM from the capital city of Bhubaneswar on the National Highway No 5....[ More ]

Koraput District

The District headquarters situated 2,900 ft. above sea level. Also known as "Sabar Shrikshetra", the modern Jagannath Temple has come up on a hilltop. The Tribal Museum behind the temple caters to and educates the tourists about the culture and heritage of the tribals....[ More ]

Mayurbhanj District

The District of Mayurbhanj preserves many temples built in different styles of Orissan architecture, such as Rekha, Bhadra and Gauriya. Among the Rekha temples the most important are the temples of Kakharua Baidyanath at Manatri of this District and that of Lord Jagannath at Baripada....[ More ]

Nabarangpur District

Nabarangpur district was created on 02.10.1992. The geographical area is 5294.5 Sq Kms. The district extends in the West upto Bastar district of Chattisgarh, in the East upto Kalahandi district, in the North upto Raipur district of Chatisgarh and in the South to Koraput district....[ More ]

Naupada District

Nuapada District is located in western part of Orissa, lies between 20 degrees 0'N and 21 degrees 5' No latitudes and between 82 degrees 20'E and 82 degrees 40'E longitudes. Its boundaries extend in north, west and south to Raipur district in Madhya Pradesh and in the east to Bargarh, Balangir and kalahandi districts....[ More ]

Puri District

Puri is a land of temples, the best ancient and modern India, whose people share a strong sense of holiness, a sense of belonging with their beautiful land and their enduring links with the past. Puri being one of the coastal districts of Orissa named after the heritage city of same name famous for Lord Jagannath....[ More ]

Raigada District

Rayagada is a district of meadows, forests, water falls and terraced valleys, peopled by colourful tribals and many Primitive Tribal Groups. The scenic beauty and heritage on the land is an unexplored paradise....[ More ]

Sambalpur District

Sambalpur, the gateway to the bewitching western zone of Orissa abounding in lush green forests, colourful wild life, captivating waterfalls; rich tribal culture, folk songs and dances and a variety of monuments finds mention in the works of Ptolemy (2nd century A.D.) as "Sambalaka"....[ More ]

Sundargarh District

Sundargarh district was constituted on the 1st January, 1948 out of the two ex-States of Gangpur and Bonai, which merged with Orissa on that day. True to its name, this "beautiful"district of Sundargarh with about 43% of its total area under forest cover and numerous colourful tribes dotting its landscape....[ More ]