Home >> India Information >> Punjab
 Register Now 

Punjab Map

The present Punjab is divided into three natural regions: The Mujha, The Doaba and the Malwa :-


Majha starts northward from the Right Bank of river Beas and stretches upto the Wagha village, which marks the boundary between India and Pakistan. Majha in Punjabi means the heartland. The region is divided into two districts, Amritsar and Gurdaspur.


The Doaba of Punjab is bounded by the Rivers Sutlej in the south and Beas in the north. The area is divided into four districts Jalandhar, Nawanshahar, Kapurthala and Hoshiarpur named after these main towns.


The area South of the river Sutlej is called Malwa. Th stuck because a clan called Molois (sometimes Malawis in ancient works) once ruled this area which have spread upto the present State of Gujrat which known as the Subah of Malwa as late as the Mughul times. Malwa the largest part of the Punjab is divided into the following 12 districts after the names of their headquarters.

Bathinda, Faridkot, Fatehgarh Sahib, Ferozepur, Ludhiana, Mansa, Moga, Muktsar, Nawan Shahar, Patiala, Ropar, Sangrur.