Home >> India Information >> Uttar Pradesh
 Register Now 


The city of Faizabad originally known as Fyzabad, is situated in Eastern India, in Uttar Pradesh State, on the bank of River Saryu, about 130 km east of Lucknow. Faizabad is a place of sugar refineries and mills for extracting oil from seeds. It is a market center for the produce of the surrounding area, including grain, oilseeds, cotton, and tobacco. A hydroelectric plant is located nearby. The ruins of the ancient town of Ayodhya, with the modern town standing nearby, are located across the river and form a part of Faizabad. Ayodhya, which is among the principal religious centers of India, is an important place of Hindu pilgrimage. This small town has lots of educational institutions including Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia University and Narendra Dev Agricultural University. There are several inter colleges for boys Government Inter College, SSV Inter college, Anil Saraswati Inter College, Adarsh Inter College, Raj Karan Inter College, Maharaja Inter College and Forbes Inter College; for girls Govt. Girls Inter College, Arya Kanya Inter College, Tulsi Kanya Inter College, Canossa Convent. Education for boys as well as girls is also available in Jingle Bell, Tiny Tots and in few other schools too. Place of interest are Gulab Bari, Maqbara , GuptarGhat, Hanuman Garhi and a lot of places of interest in Ayodhya about 6 km away from Faizabad.

How to reach

By Road

Buses are frequently available from Lucknow, Delhi and Gorakhpur. Buses are also available from Varanasi, Allahabad and other places as per their schedule.

Distance from Faizabad to :
Lucknow 130 km
Varanasi 200 km
Allahabad 160 km
Gorakhpur 140 km
Delhi 636 km
By Train

Trains are available from Delhi, Lucknow, Varanasi and Allahabad.

By Air

Faizabad has an Airport at Naka, near Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia University but no regular airlines services are available. Nearest airport is Lucknow which is about 130 km away.

District Faizabad at a Glance
Area 2,643 Sq Km
Total 1,68,4720
Male 88,7560
Female 79,7170
SC 37,6580
Admnistrative Set up
Tehsils 5
Blocks 11
Nyay Panchayat 129
Gram Sabha 729
Villages 1270
Nagar Palika 3
Cantonement 1
Town Area 3
Wards 153
Total 51,2250
Male 38,0040
Female 13,2210
Bus Station/Stop 42
Railway Station/ Halt 17
Rail Track (Broad Gauge) 116 Km.
Police Stations 19
Nationalised Banks 56
Rural Banks 40
Cooperative Banks 18
Total Sown Area 181 ('000 hectares)
Total Irrigated Area 240 ('000 hectares)
Food Grains 5,15,692 M.T.
Sugar-cane 7,60,424 M.T.
Tilhan 3,072 M.T.
Misc. Info.
Cinema Halls 5
Printing Press 11
Rest Houses/ Dak Banglow 14
Small Scale Industries 26,223
Registered Factories 128
Post & Telegraph
Post Offices
City 37
Village 302
Telegraph Offices 32
Telephone Connections 7,507
Junior Basic Schools 1,226
Senior Basic Schools 283
Higher Sec. Schools 65
Degree Colleges 6
Universities 2
Polytechnic 1
Allopathic 15
Ayurvedic 19
Homeopathic 16
Unani 6