Home >> India Information >> Uttranchal
 Register Now 
  Great Cities
  - Almora
  - Bageshwar
  - Chamoli
  - Champawat
  - Dehradun
  - Haridwar
  - Nainital
  - Pithoragarh
  - Pouri
  - Rudraprayag
  - Tehri
  - Udham Singh Nagar
  - Uttarkashi
  Art & Culture
  Map of Uttranchal



Uttaranchal beame the 27th state of the Republic of India on the 9th of November 2000. The State is carved out of the northern part of Uttar Pradesh. It is bounded by U.P. on the South, Nepal on the East, Himachal Pradesh on the west and China on the northeast. The geographical area of the state is 53,483 sq.km. It ranks at 18th place and it's share is 1.69% in the area of the country as a whole. Geographically, it is situated in the central Himalayan zone. It extends between 77o 34' and 81o 02' E longitude and 28o 43' to 31o 27' N latitude. Uttaranchal is a region of outstanding natural beauty. Most of the northern parts of the state are covered by the high Himalayan ranges and glaciers, while the lower reaches are densely forested. The unique Himalayan ecosystem plays host to a large number of animals (including bharal, snow leopards, leopards and tigers), plants and rare herbs. Two of India's mightiest rivers, the Ganga and the Yamuna take birth in the glaciers of Uttaranchal, and are fed by innumerable lakes, glacial melts and streams in the region. The topography of Uttaranchal is characterized by hilly terrain, rugged and rocky Mountains, deep valleys, high peaks, sharp streams and rivulets, rapid soil erosion, frequent landslides and widely scattered habitations. Char-dhams, the four most sacred and revered Hindu temples: Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri are nestled in the Mighty Mountains. Capital of Uttaranchal is Dehradun which is also the rail-head in the region. The High Court is situated in the district of Nainital. The region is also known as Uttarakhand.


Uttaranchal has traditionally been divided into two parts, the eastern region going by the name of Kumaon and the western half known as Garhwal. The native people of Uttaranchal call themselves Paharis (hill people), the majority of whom are Hindus. Other ethnic communities in the region include Gujjars and Nepalis. Garhwal resembles other parts of the Himalayas where various ethnic groups live side by side. Following chiefly the agrarian-pastoral way of life, native Garhwalis make their living from the hilly land the best they can. Kumaon The inhabitants of the Kumaon hills are commonly known as the Kumaonese. They belong to a predominantly patriarchal society, which recognizes the superiority of men over women. The social structure is based on the extended family system, the eldest male member being the head of the family. Women are respected in society but they usually confine themselves to household activities. No religious ceremony is considered complete without the wife joining the husband. Women also work in the fields and forests alongside the men. In Kumaon, bigamy or polygamy has religious sanctions but polyandry is prohibited. Widow marriage and re-marriage by divorced women is permitted except in certain sections of high-caste Brahmins and Rajputs. Child marriage is still practiced in all classes of society despite legal restrictions on it. It has all but disappeared from the educated society.

Bifurcation of 13 districts in two divisions are as follows :

Garhwal Division

Tehri Garhwal
Pauri Garhwal

Kumaun Division

U S Nagar
Major Peaks
Gauri Parvat 6590 m
Gangotri 6614 m
Panch Chhuli 6910 m
Nanda Devi 7816 m
Nanda Kot 6861 m
Kamet 7756 m
Badrinath 7140 m
Trishul 7120 m
Chaukhamba 7138 m
Dunagiri 7066 m
Major Passes
Mana 5450 m
Nitipass 5070 m
Lipulekh 5122 m
Lumpia Dhura 5650 m


Tourism, Dairy, Agriculture, Horticulture, Floriculture, Sugar and other small scale industries.

Trade Centers

Haldwani, Rudrapur, Tanakpur, Dehradun, Haridwar, Kotdwar, Rishikesh.

Uttranchal at a glance

Population (As per 2001 census)
Male 43.16 Lakhs  
Female 41.63 Lakhs 84.79 Lakhs
Literacy Rate (In percent)
Persons 72.28
Male 84.01
Female 60.26

Railway Stations

Dehradun, Haridwar, Rishikesh, Lalkuan, Kathgodam, Tanakpur


Pant Nagar, Nainisaine, Jolly Grant