Ayurveda is a traditional system of medicine which originated from India, and is more than 5,000 years old. "Ayur" means life and "Ved" means knowledge. This holistic science is the knowledge of complete balance of the Body, Mind and spirit, including the emotions and psychology, on all levels. It includes in its consideration, longevity, rejuvenation and self-realization therapies through herbs, diet, exercise, yoga, massage, aromas, tantras, mantras, and meditation. It includes diet and herbal remedies and emphasizes the use of body, mind, and spirit in disease prevention and treatment.

Ayurveda and the 3 Gunas

According to the ayurveda, medicines and foods are sattvic, rajasic or tamasic or a combination of these gunas.The gunas are three fundamental attributes that represent the natural evolutionary process through which the subtle becomes gross. In turn, gross objects, by action and interaction among themselves, may again become subtle. Thus the three gunas are defined as:

Sattva : Essence (subtle)
Rajas : Activity
Tamas : Inertia (gross)

Sattvic foods:

Are fresh, juicy, light, unctuous, nourishing, sweet and tasty. Give the necessary energy to the body without taxing it. The foundation of higher states of consciousness etc


juicy fruits, fresh vegetables that are easily digestible, fresh milk and butter, whole soaked or also sprouted beans, grains and nuts, many herbs and spices in the right combinations with other foods.

Rajasic foods:

Are bitter, sour, salty, pungent, hot and dry. Increase the speed and excitement of the human organism. The foundation of motion, activity and pain etc


sattvic foods that have been fried in oil or cooked too much or eaten in excess, specific foods and spices that are strongly exciting etc

Tamasic Foods:

Are dry, old, decaying, distasteful and/or unpalatable. Consume a large amount of energy while being digested. The foundation of ignorance, doubt, pessimism etc


foods that have been strongly processed, canned or frozen and/or are old, stale or incompatible with each other - meat, fish, eggs and liquor are especially tamasic.

Ayurveda and the 3 Doshas

In Ayurveda, different people with the same disease sometimes receive different diets and herbal plans. Each person's constitution and the imbalance found in each individual are taken into account. With Ayurveda, we acknowledge that beneficial daily habits are different for each person, because each person is a unique combination of the 3 fundamental biological principles, which are called "Doshas": Vata, Pitta and Kapha. Everybody has all 3 energies - although people experience each of them to a lesser or greater degree.