10th IIFA Awards

2009 (Macau)

10th IIFA Awards - 2009

The 10th International Indian Film Academy Awards (informally known as the Decadial IIFA Awards) were a major film awards ceremony honoring the best Bollywood films of 2008. The ceremony was held in The Venetian Macao, Macau from June 11 to June 13, 2009. The choice of Macau as host city was considered a well planned decision, aimed at reducing tensions between India and China, as well as to end the "deadlock" between the two countries over the issue of exchange of cinema. The ceremony was hosted by Boman Irani, Ritesh Deshmukh and Lara Dutta.

Jodhaa Akbar dominated the IIFA Awards in its 10th edition at Macau. The movie bagged the Best Movie award with Hrithik Roshan bagging the Best Actor award and Ashutosh Gowariker taking home the Best Director award. Priyanka Chopra won the Best Actress award for her role in Fashion while Shahrukh Khan was awarded the Star of the decade award.

Here's the complete winners' list:

Best Film
Best Actor
Best Actress
Best Director
Ashutosh Gowariker - Jodhaa Akbar 
Best Story
Neeraj Pandey - A Wednesday 
Best Debut Male
Best Debut Female
Achievement by an Indian in International Cinema
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Best Music
A R Rahman - Jodhaa Akbar 
Best Lyrics
Jashn-e-bahara (Jodhaa Akbar) 
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Javed Ali - Jashn-e-Baharaa (Jodhaa Akbar) 
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghoshal - Teri Ore (Singh is King) 
Best Dialogue
Manu Rishi - Oye Lucky Lucky Oye 
Best Screenplay
Neeraj Pandey - A Wednesday 
Sound Editing
Sound Recording
Best Action
Special Effects
Best Make-up
Jodha Akbar 
Best Sound Recording
Best Background Score
A R Rahman -
Art Direction
Jodha Akbar 
Best Editing
Jodha Akbar 
Best Costume Award
Jodha Akbar 
Star of the Decdade - Male
Shah Rukh Khan -
Star of the Decade - Female
Music Director of the Decade
A R Rahman -

Other Bollywood Movies Awards

Life Ok Screen Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Star Guild Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Colors Stardust Awards, Mumbai (2015)
59th Idea Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj studio, Mumbai (2014)
6th IIFA Awards, Amsterdam (2005)
58th Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj Studio, Mumbai (2013)
57th Filmfare Awards, Mumbai (2012)