17th Annual Star Screen Awards

2011 (Mumbai)

17th Annual Star Screen Awards - 2011

It's that time of the year again - the Bollywood waits with bated breath for the Karbonn Mobile 17th Annual Star Screen Awards - the first awards function of the year. The 17th annual Star Screen Awards was held at the MMRDA Grounds in Mumbai's Bandra Kurla Complex.

The nomination and selection is done by a panel of eminent personalities from the film industry itself. Thus these awards are rightly considered as one of the prestigious and toughest award to win in Bollywood. All the screen award ceremonies are generally held in the heart of the Indian film industry.

Year 2010 probably be remembered as the year of first time filmmakers. This is aptly represented with the nominations this year, with small budgets flicks nominated alongside the biggies and debutants sharing the honours with established directors.

It was a grand evening with the who's who of B-Town in attendance. Salman Khan was also present at the event. Vivek Oberoi came along with his wife Priyanka and mother to the award function. Shahrukh Khan who is back from Dubai was seen with Karan Johar and bonding with the beautiful Rekha.

Aishwarya Rai had almost stopped performing at award functions since 2007, but the dazzling diva pulled out all the stops for her live performance. Dressed in a peach anarkali, Ash performed to some of her smashing dance numbers at the first award function of Bollywood in 2011. Beautiful as ever, she made the night memorable with her jhatka-matka. Bollywood stunner Priyanka Chopra too gave a performance at the Star Screen Awards.

Here's the complete winners' list:

Best Film
Best Director
Vikramaditya Motwane - Udaan 
Best Actor (Male)
Best Actor (Female)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male)
Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female)
Best Actor in a Negative Role
Best Actor in a Comic Role
Best Music
Sajid Wajid - Dabangg 
Best Background Music
Wayne Sharp - Raajneeti 
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Rahat Fateh Ali Khan - Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji (Ishqiya) 
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghoshal - Bahara (I Hate Luv Storys) 
Best Lyrics
Best Screenplay
Most Promising Newcomer (Male)
Most Promising Newcomer (Female)
Best Story
Amit Rai - Road To Sangam 
Best Art Directon
Mukund Gupta - Do Dooni Chaar 
Best Choreography
Farah Khan - Munni Badnaam (Dabangg) 
Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterji - Guzaarish 
Best Dialouge
Habib Faisal - Band Baaja Baraat 
Best Editing
Namrata Rao - Band Baaja Baraat 
Best Actor Popular Choice (Male)
Best Actor Popular Choice (Female)
Best Performer
Best New Talent In Music
Mamta Sharma - Munni Badnaam (Dabangg) 
Most Promising Debut Director
Maneesh Sharma - Band Baaja Baaraat 
Most Popular Music
Best Ensemble Cast
Peepli Live 
Best Action
Master Vijayan - Dabangg 
Best Child Artiste
Ayaan Boradia - Udaan 
Best Special Effects
Srinivas Mohan - Robot 
Ramnath Goenka Memorial Awards
Special Jury Awards For Spectacular Cutting Of Age Technology

Other Bollywood Movies Awards

Life Ok Screen Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Star Guild Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Colors Stardust Awards, Mumbai (2015)
59th Idea Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj studio, Mumbai (2014)
6th IIFA Awards, Amsterdam (2005)
58th Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj Studio, Mumbai (2013)
57th Filmfare Awards, Mumbai (2012)