9th IIFA Awards

2008 (Bangkok)

9th IIFA Awards - 2008

The 2008 IIFA Awards, officially known as the 9th International Indian Film Academy Awards ceremony, presented by the International Indian Film Academy honored the best films of 2007 and took place between June 6 - 8, 2008. The official ceremony took place on June 8, 2008, at the Siam Paragon in Bangkok, Thailand. During the ceremony, IIFA Awards were awarded in 27 competitive categories. Actors Boman Irani and Ritesh Deshmukh co-hosted the ceremony for the first time.

Nominations for the IIFA Awards 2008 has been announced. Interestingly, Aamir Khan's critically acclaimed and commercially super successful Taare Zameen Par hasn't received even a single nomination in any category. The Darsheel Safari - Aamir Khan starrer which was expected to sweep awards at the IIFA has been left out because the producer (Aamir Khan) refused to sign on the nomination papers.

So with Taare out of the race, Chak De India is most likely to sweep the awards this year at the IIFA.. Also, Shreya Ghoshal has received four out of five nominations for Best Playback singer (Female).

Chak De! India won nine awards, three of which were popular awards: Best Picture, Best Performance In A Leading Role Male and Best Director. Om Shanti Om won six awards. Other multiple winners included Life in a... Metro with three awards and Jab We Met, Shootout at Lokhandwala, Guru and Saawariya, with two awards each. In addition, Partner received one award (Best Performance In A Comic Role).

Here's the complete winners' list:

Best Film
Shimit Amin - Chak De India 
Best Actor
Shah Rukh Khan - Chak De India 
Best Actress
Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Male)
Irrfan Khan - Life In A... Metro 
Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female)
Konkona Sen Sharma - Life In A... Metro 
Best Performance in a Comic Role
Best Performance in a Negative Role
Viveik Oberoi - Shootout At Lokhandwala 
Best Music Direction
A. R. Rahman - Guru, Barso Re Barso Re... 
Best Story
Jaideep Sahni - Chak De India 
Best Lyricist
Om Shanti Om, Main Agar Kahoon... 
Best Playback Singer (Male)
Shaan - Saawariya, Jabse Tere Naina... 
Best Playback Singer (Female)
Shreya Ghosal - Guru, Barso Re... 
Achievement in Indian Cinema
Mumtaz -
Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema
Shyam Benegal -
Outstanding Contribution by an Indian in International Cinema
Best Debutant Male
Best Debutant Female
Idea Style Icon of the Year
Idea Glamour Diva of the Year
Idea Fresh Face of the Year
Best Cinematography
Sudeep Chatterjee - Chak De India 
Best Editing
Amitabh Shukla - Chak De India 
Best Sound Recording
Manas Choudhary, Ali Merchant - Chak De India 
Best Sound Re-recording
Anuj Mathur - Chak De India 
Best Screenplay
Jaideep Sahni - Chak De India 
Best Screenplay
Anurag Basu - Life In A... Metro 
Best Art Direction
Sabu Cyril - Om Shanti Om 
Best Special Effects
Red Chillies Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. - Om Shanti Om 
Best Costume Designing
Manish Malhotra, Karan Johar, Sanjiv Mulchandani - Om Shanti Om 
Best Makeup
Bharat-Dorris, Ravi Indulkar, Namrata Soni - Om Shanti Om 

Other Bollywood Movies Awards

Life Ok Screen Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Star Guild Awards, Mumbai (2015)
Colors Stardust Awards, Mumbai (2015)
59th Idea Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj studio, Mumbai (2014)
6th IIFA Awards, Amsterdam (2005)
58th Filmfare Awards, Yash Raj Studio, Mumbai (2013)
57th Filmfare Awards, Mumbai (2012)